Home > Musings > A thought about duty

A thought about duty

I’m a big fan of the movie 300. It’s not the highest aspiration of cinema but it’s entertaining. One thing said in the movie that’s stuck with me , which I’m paraphrasing a bit, is the following: “In (whatever), the most important thing someone has is the person next to them. Show respect and honor to them and it will be returned to you.” – I think this is quite applicable, especially in light of what we new interns are about to undertake.

I add to this my own thoughts, namely that it takes a certain type of person who can go to someone and without pretense or expectation say: “I will be your shield. I will keep you safe. I will protect you.” – words easily said, but not-so-easily meant.

Categories: Musings Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment